About Us

The Danish Club of Ottawa was officially launched on June 5, 1975, by a group of Danes who wanted to celebrate, preserve and share their culture and heritage.

The Aims and Objectives of The Danish Club of Ottawa are to promote friendship, customs, traditions and other matters peculiar to Danish culture; to promote and foster good relations between Canada and Denmark; and to represent the interests and welfare of the Danish community in the National Capital Region. Last but not least, the aim is to bring people together – whether it be for a community project or a party.

The Club is non-sectarian and non-political. Moreover, it is a non-profit organization. The affairs of the Club are managed by a board of ten directors, who are elected yearly at the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Members receive Viking News, the Club’s Newsletter, which is published about eight times a year. The Club offers a wide variety of events throughout the year, allowing members to get together and enjoy Danish traditions.

Over the years the Club has welcomed visitors from Denmark, many of them groups of young people such as Værløse Pige Garde, the Copenhagen Boys’ Choir and Holstebro Springpiger.

The Danish Club of Ottawa cooperates with various other organizations having similar objectives. The Club is a founding member and was the driving force in establishing the national umbrella organization: The Federation of Danish Associations in Canada.

If you are interested in obtaining additional information about The Danish Club of Ottawa please feel free to send us an e-mail.

Our mailing address is
The Danish Club of Ottawa
386 Ravenhill Avenue
Ottawa, ON
K2A 0J6

The Board of Directors
The Danish Club of Ottawa 2017/18

President Vibeke (Vib) Reid
Vice-President Paul Daniels
Secretary Rosann Kristensen
Treasurer Chris Petersen
Director Louise Hansen
Director Jeff Jessen
Director Svend Kristensen
Director Lene Kelly
Director Marianne Bournes
Director Bente Nielsen

Past Presidents of the Club:
Ted Hansen
Lisbeth Hansen
Poul Hoffman
Charlotte Christensen
Søren Laursen
Vita H. Christensen
Hugh M. Larsen
Leif Janichen
Rolf Buschardt Christensen
Randi Hansen

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close